Studentfilms.com    Studentfilms.com Filmmaking Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Miscellaneous Topics  Hop To Forums  Cool Filmmaking Sites    GET PAID FOR YOUR SHORT FILM TO BE ON TV!!
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Freshman
AIM: Online Status For lossofcontrol19
Posted
==========================================================
SEE YOUR SHORT FILM ON NATIONAL TV AND GET PAID $50/MINUTE
==========================================================
How would you like your short film to be on TV - seen by millions of people - and not only will it be broadcast, but you will get PAID for it? $50 per minute in length.

What happens to short films after they have screened in festivals? They're lost. People watch them, people like them, then they vanish. There is a new show that will be broadcast in 8 cities that proposes a solution to this problem. Why not let your shorts be seen by millions of people? That's the original purpose of making a film - for exhibition. Every filmmaker knows that there is no better feeling than that of knowing people see your work.

So here is the deal. You don't lose the rights to your film, submission is free, and you get paid if it's chosen. Maximum length is 21 minutes and it must be suitable for TV. You can submit on VHS or DVD. It needs to have original music or a signed release if it is selected. THERE ARE ONLY 30 DAYS LEFT, so submit ASAP!

Help short film exhibition by submitting your films at:

http://www.thedreamdepot.com/submit4/index.htm

If you would like more information, please email me at tjmcgraw@hotmail.com

Thank you,
T.J. McGraw
The Dream Depot
210-473-1601
 
Posts: 2 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: March 06, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of Bryan
Posted Hide Post
Why no? Do you know if this guy is a scam?

AMF PRODUCTIONS
 
Posts: 132 | Location: Studio City, CA | Registered: October 31, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Junior
Posted Hide Post
This sounds awfully like one of those "two good to be true" deals to me...

"I guess Dan Gross was right" -Hill Dawson Kane Wink
 
Posts: 505 | Location: Connecticut, USA | Registered: September 08, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Alumnus
Picture of joren
Posted Hide Post
That sounds low too me. The stuff we've sold to real tv and the reality sports videos pay 500 to 750 a minute. And that's just raw video.

I could see this being 'true.'

www.jorenclark.com || The Wallet @ ReWind
 
Posts: 1742 | Location: HELL-A | Registered: March 05, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Junior
Posted Hide Post
Wait, did I say "two" instead of "too"? God help me, I'm a moron... Roll Eyes

"I guess Dan Gross was right" -Hill Dawson Kane Wink
 
Posts: 505 | Location: Connecticut, USA | Registered: September 08, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Graduate
Picture of Trespasser
Posted Hide Post
Wow. Scam.
 
Posts: 912 | Location: Chicago | Registered: April 02, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
<Austin Film Vitality>
Posted
Not a scam. I know first hand. If you think so, forget it. Otherwise, check it out first. An opportunity to get your film seen and paid for. Those of you hollering "scam" have obviously not looked at it. Not very professional. How do you think you look to valid producers? Hollering scam with no proof? Who will want to work with you? Grow up.

austinfilmvitality@yahoo.com
 
Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
<MikeWatt>
Posted
How could it be a scam when no one is asking YOU to buy something? He wasn't asking for your money, but offering an opportunity to get your movie seen. Austin Film Vitality is right, not a professional response at all, but the mark of an immature amateur.

Mike Watt
Hollywood is Burning
Film Threat
Other
 
Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of Bryan
Posted Hide Post
Actually, if that really is Mike Watt from Film Threat....then yeah I'd believe him.

AMF PRODUCTIONS
 
Posts: 132 | Location: Studio City, CA | Registered: October 31, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Graduate
Picture of Trespasser
Posted Hide Post
What valid producers are looking at me? For one, no 'valid producers' know who I am so how could I even be judged? This is a message board. And "not a professional response at all, but the mark of an immature amateur." Wow, your assumption and method of reasoning are the things that that are immature. Let's remember to respect other people's opinions instead of attacking them.
 
Posts: 912 | Location: Chicago | Registered: April 02, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Posted Hide Post
Trespasser, if you want your opinion to be respected, why don't you say something other then Wow. Scam. ? I can't say that its not a scam but at least do some research before labelling it something. Opportunities like this can be great for independant filmmakers. My advice: if you want valid producers looking at you, then maybe think about options such as this one. Just a thought here, take it or leave it.
 
Posts: 60 | Registered: November 29, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Junior
Posted Hide Post
Mike Watt-

Well, I for one am at least a little glad that these young dudes don't fall for every scam under the sun. And there are many. Personally I think "the pitch" for this "National TV" spot was way amateur. If you want potential clients to take YOU seriously, you present a professional package. And you don't slam them for being suspicions if you do not! Especially when you use "Quick,! Act now! Don't miss out! " tactics... (that might work for used cars, not film)


If you're somewhat established in the film world you should know these things...


The add came across like the 1000's of other slime ball "I'll make you a star" adds that are a dime a dozen in Hollywood. "Hollywood is Burning"? I guess that's a play on words. Tell you're buddy not to write adds like the two bit "Hollywood" underbelly crowd and maybe these well meaning smart kids will be more receptive.


No offense! But, poor delivery...


Jay
 
Posts: 405 | Location: Los Angeles | Registered: December 16, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
<Schotten FilmWorks>
Posted
You people are fools. Its not a scam ........ my short "Necrotropic" is involved.
 
Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Alumnus
Picture of joren
Posted Hide Post
How come everyone supporting this guy can't even take the time to register. Maybe because it's the same person? I don't know if I like unregistered users posting. This isn't the only board where this guy's posted that people have raised an eyebrow. Shady, yes. A scam, I doubt it.

www.jorenclark.com || The Wallet @ ReWind
 
Posts: 1742 | Location: HELL-A | Registered: March 05, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
<SchottenFilmWorks>
Posted
joren
You want to know who I am go to my website www.schottenfilmworks.com .... I am just a film maker like you all. I'm telling you guys .... communicate with this guy.. He wants to pay YOU to show your shorts on TV ... and why the hell would I register on such a negative message board.... tell me!! I am the director of a film called "Dead Life" If you have any questions about this guy email me at william@schottenfilmworks.com get it "Dream Depot" .... "Schotten FilmWorks" two different companies.
 
Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of SchottenFilmWorks
AIM: Online Status For schottenfilms
Posted Hide Post
By the way .... I have been registered since may 30th 2003
 
Posts: 16 | Location: ohio | Registered: May 30, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
AIM: Online Status For nobody200000000
Posted Hide Post
it's ONLY $50 per minute, now I didn't read into this thing, but they're probably taking in TONS of entries, and selecting a few to go on their show, now figure it out...let's say that each film averages 3.5 minutes. You have 10 mins of commercials and .5 minutes of commentary before each one. 5 movies are run a week. maybe 4...who know..so ..they are investing less than $2000 per show for their "talent." PLUS..they probably require that you use original or royalty free music if you use it at all.

It's not too good to be true at all.


www.billparkermovie.com It's groin Grabbingly hilarious.

11+ short films to view now, all original (except for music) and all hilarious!
www.billparkermovie.com
 
Posts: 54 | Location: Seneca Falls, NY, USA | Registered: November 03, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of SchottenFilmWorks
AIM: Online Status For schottenfilms
Posted Hide Post
I give up .........
 
Posts: 16 | Location: ohio | Registered: May 30, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
I really don't think it's that big of a deal, guys. Let people decide for themselves if they want to submit or not. If someone wants to think it's a scam, so be it. But let's not get too worked up over it.
 
Posts: 2273 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

Studentfilms.com    Studentfilms.com Filmmaking Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Miscellaneous Topics  Hop To Forums  Cool Filmmaking Sites    GET PAID FOR YOUR SHORT FILM TO BE ON TV!!

© Studentfilms.com, Inc. 2008