Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Freshman
Picture of ralphnj
Posted
I just received this:

quote:
Dear Ralph Jongeneel:

This is Theresa with the Action on Film International Film Festival, We saw you?re film Kittens and thought it might be a perfect fit for our programming. We are sending out letters to directors and producers who we feel have work that we would definitely screen at our upcoming event.

We have seen too often in the past filmmakers who apply to multiple film festivals to have their work declined. We are attempting to show filmmakers support, our interest, and of course respect for their work and dedication. To those ends we are contacting filmmakers who we believe align with the goals at this festival and offering them a chance to submit their work and to register at a discount.

If you present your project by the listed deadlines and with complete packages, it will be shown at our festival. This is our attempt to become the top festival in California and we want the filmmakers who are making great film and video to know that we are looking for them. Only a limited number of these invitations are going out and I hope that you will take this opportunity to have your project seen by our audience.

For more information please visit us at www.aoffest.com where you will find all information necessary to submit your work and to be seen by our incredible audience. Should you decide to enter please reference Code ***** and take an additional $5 off of the original entry fee.

Thank you and continued success,
Theresa Coscarelli
Programming Manager
AOFFEST




I need some advice on how to take this letter. In other words, is this for real? Anyone familiar with the festival or site?

I need a reply right away.

Thanks

-Ralph N.J

This message has been edited. Last edited by: Josh,
 
Posts: 118 | Location: CH | Registered: January 25, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
Seems legit.

I went ahead and blocked out the reference code that they sent you. I don't think that's something that ought to be made public.
 
Posts: 2264 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of ralphnj
Posted Hide Post
thanks, almost forgot.

oops,
ralph n.j
 
Posts: 118 | Location: CH | Registered: January 25, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Senior
Picture of Mark Denega
AIM: Online Status For MW Ice19
Posted Hide Post
I got one of those also, but can't remeber whether or not I allowed them to show my film. I've gotten 3 or 4 of the same type of thing, and at first I thought it was some kind of scheme. I allowed one to use my film on a station and on a site, checked it out, and it was perfectly fine. I think your ok here.
 
Posts: 663 | Location: Highland Mills, New York | Registered: May 05, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of E.D.M.
Posted Hide Post
As I've mentioned before, I'm not a filmmaker but a musician... but I still feel naive and stupid asking this:
is it standard policiy to charge filmmakers an entry fee at festivals?
I thought they made their profit (if any) out of ticket sales and merchandising...
Anyone care to explain to me how this works, most of the time?

Tnx,

E.
 
Posts: 187 | Location: BA | Registered: April 25, 2005Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 


© Studentfilms.com, Inc. 2008