Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Freshman
Picture of LiQuId
AIM: Online Status For o0liquidblue0oo
Posted
Hey guys,
My friend is gonna go with the Panasonic camera and he's trying to look for the best deal. He found one at this site:
http://www.expresscameras.com/cart/prodetails.asp?prodid=8681&start=1
Is it too good to be true? B&H has it for about 4G's and I heard they have pretty good prices. I also heard that some company's will try to shaft you by not including lenses and stuff which drives the price of the camera down, but unknowingly you don't get what you think you pay for. Thanks guys.
EDIT>> Also, what about the camerasource.com?
Basically any site that would offer the camera for about 2500.

[This message was edited by LiQuId on December 15, 2003 at 09:16 PM.]
 
Posts: 130 | Location: Sacramento, Ca [Most boring city in Cali] | Registered: June 10, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
www.bwayphoto.com

Best price around. It's grey market, but they're legit. I've ordered from them before.

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/
 
Posts: 2274 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of LiQuId
AIM: Online Status For o0liquidblue0oo
Posted Hide Post
Are you saying the expresscamera isn't legit, cuz they have the best price at 2,399 while the bway one is 2,599.
 
Posts: 130 | Location: Sacramento, Ca [Most boring city in Cali] | Registered: June 10, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
I've never heard of Express Camera, so I can't vouch for them.

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/
 
Posts: 2274 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of LiQuId
AIM: Online Status For o0liquidblue0oo
Posted Hide Post
Thanx man. I appreciate your input. But as for the grey market thing. I've seen some bad reviews for bway at:
http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1570-p2-s1-d1.html

[This message was edited by LiQuId on December 15, 2003 at 09:17 PM.]
 
Posts: 130 | Location: Sacramento, Ca [Most boring city in Cali] | Registered: June 10, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sophomore
Picture of jdunn555
Posted Hide Post
ok...

they give you a price of $2700, but your only getting the camera. Which means you have to pay a couple hundred for the (should have been)supplied accessories.
 
Posts: 290 | Location: NYC | Registered: December 05, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of Party Pooper
Posted Hide Post
Here is is Broadway Photos ratings from thousands of customers:

http://bizrate.com/ratings_guide/cust_reviews__mid--27931,rf--wgg.html

http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1995.html

BTW, all i had to do to find these ratings was type in "broadway photo" in yahoo.

Here's the store front:



And other stores here: http://www.panix.com/~donwiss/pictures/BrooklynStores/

Uh, I'd say don't buy from them, but it's up to you...

I'd buy from http://www.buydig.com/

ratings: http://bizrate.com/ratings_guide/cust_reviews__mid--24992.html

me and a friend had good experiences with them. Anywhere selling the dvx for less than about 3 grand is probably questionable.

--
Clyde
www.partypooperfilms.com
 
Posts: 107 | Location: Seattle, WA | Registered: May 28, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
Okay. Have fun paying full price.

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/
 
Posts: 2274 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sophomore
Picture of JASONvb
AIM: Online Status For HIGHoffO2
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JW:
Okay. Have fun paying full price.

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/


Ur dumb man... yeah.. he will have fun paying full price for a REAL camera, not some piece of **** that fell off the boat from Japan, and was scraped off the floor of the ocean, wiped off, and sold on Broadway photo. Why the hell do you think they are so cheap. Duh-hurrrrrr

"This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time"
 
Posts: 324 | Location: University of Southern California | Registered: February 08, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
quote:
Originally posted by JASONvb:
Ur dumb man... yeah.. he will have fun paying full price for a REAL camera, not some piece of **** that fell off the boat from Japan, and was scraped off the floor of the ocean, wiped off, and sold on Broadway photo. Why the hell do you think they are so cheap. Duh-hurrrrrr




Do you even know what the grey market is?

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/
 
Posts: 2274 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sophomore
Picture of JASONvb
AIM: Online Status For HIGHoffO2
Posted Hide Post
Of course I know what it is. They are cameras that are not meant for sale in the US. They are often salvage parts, and are sold to other countries. Often times you will get a camera in a cardboard box with no manual, accessories, or warranty. Sure, if you want to pay half price for an unreliable camera that no one will stand behind, go ahead. But it's not the real thing. You will regret it.

"This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time"
 
Posts: 324 | Location: University of Southern California | Registered: February 08, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Administrator
Picture of Josh
Posted Hide Post
That's what I thought. You don't know.

Grey market vendors sell goods secondary to authorized resellers. While it is legal to purchase these goods, certain risks do follow, but none as serious as you pointed out. The products are rarely covered by the original manufacturer's warranty, firmware, hardware, or software licenses tend to be nonexistent, and support and service will cost more (since there's no warranty). The equipment comes in it's original box and packaging and with all the original documentation, and is fully tested and working (I would know all this; I often buy from the grey market). The parts are not salvaged; this is more like the black market and would be illegal to purchase and own. The products are meant to be sold in the US, they just go through different (perhaps less reliable) pipelines to get there.

_________________________
http://www.jswfilms.com/
 
Posts: 2274 | Location: Boston | Registered: September 18, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Alumnus
Picture of TizzyEntertainment
Posted Hide Post
Ok, last time Im saying this...

Go to this site. Run a search for the AG-DVX100. It will pull up 20 or so retailers with the lowest prices. THEN look at their ratings by past customers.

I got mine for just under $3,000 but there were shops that had it for like $2,200. BAD ratings. Rip offs galore. That one price sounds WAY to low. Do your homework. Call customer service and see if you can speak to someone. Call the better business burea and see if they have a good rating. If you dont and get rpped off I ate to say it but you got what you paid for. $700 more to ACTUALLY get the camera is a better deal. Good luck.
R. Michael

"Luck, is when opportunity, meets preperation." "There are 3 sides to every story. Yours, mine, and the truth, and none of us are lying" -Robert Evans
Tizzy Entertainment "Redemption" Hi-Def trailer
 
Posts: 1534 | Location: WPB, Florida | Registered: November 22, 2002Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Sophomore
Picture of JASONvb
AIM: Online Status For HIGHoffO2
Posted Hide Post
Regardless what grey market is or not, it is nonetheless GREY MARKET. Just hearing those words when thinking about buying a camera puts a bad feeling in my stomach. It just sounds evil in some way.

Try calling BWAY photo and try to have an intelligent conversation with a rep. I guarantee you it will be a laugh. Trust me. I already tried it.

"This is your life, and it's ending one minute at a time"
 
Posts: 324 | Location: University of Southern California | Registered: February 08, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Picture of timlogik
Posted Hide Post
I am the "friend" in question who is purchasing the camera. I found a great package deal off Ebay. I do not recommend express cameras or amazon. I'm getting this thing delivered tomorrow so in a few days i'll give my review.
 
Posts: 72 | Location: Sacramento | Registered: December 23, 2003Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 


© Studentfilms.com, Inc. 2008