Studentfilms.com    Studentfilms.com Filmmaking Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Filmmaking Tips & Techniques  Hop To Forums  General Filmmaking Discussion    Nervous about website purchase. Suggestions?
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Reply
  
  Login/Join 
Freshman
Posted
I want to buy this AG-DVX100B on the following site because the price is so good.... too good to be true. I knwow I know, I should stay away from these types of sites but it says that its brand new (not refurbished), comes with a USA warranty, and the whole thing looks legit. Anybody have any advice for me?

http://www.thecameraprofessionals.com/prodetails.asp?pr...in4wCFQlQWAod-TmF6w#
 
Posts: 17 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: February 28, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Moderator
Picture of braininabox
Posted Hide Post
I would call the toll free number listed on the site and ask them to prove to you that they are not a fraudulent business. If these guys are selling cameras at those prices (about 1/2 of regular retail price) I would immediately be concerned about their integrity.

I find it humorous that at the bottom of their webpage they have 20 "seals of protection" all lined up in row assuring you that the site is "Visa ensured!" and "Customer satisfaction is Guaranteed!" "etc!". The number of them almost makes me suspicious.


"Important dialog is only in Hollywood films" - Kyle Phillip Johnson
 
Posts: 1278 | Location: Indiana | Registered: May 23, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Moderator
Picture of braininabox
Posted Hide Post
Stay Away! The site is a SCAM

The guy who ran "thecamerapros.com" apparently couldn't get any more business because of his extensive scamming, so he changed his website to "thecameraprofessionals.com". Some stories about The Camera Pros: Here


Bottom line...stay away Smile

This message has been edited. Last edited by: braininabox,


"Important dialog is only in Hollywood films" - Kyle Phillip Johnson
 
Posts: 1278 | Location: Indiana | Registered: May 23, 2004Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Posted Hide Post
wow! Thanks braininabox, both of those links were EXTREMELY informative and needless to say, I will not be purchasing my camera from these people. I kind of want to call them just to say 'you suck'.
 
Posts: 17 | Location: Austin, TX | Registered: February 28, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Posted Hide Post
I have the same bad experience with thecameraprofessionals I ordered a canon G9 Digital camera last month, I received a call the next day if I need a 2 hour or 5 hour battery (note. There is only one type battery for this camera) I told them no because I don’t want to spent $150 just for a battery, and this week I received an email from them that the camera is out of stock, while I was waiting for my camera I checked on Google for a good battery for this camera and I got snapitdigital.com sold me a Power2000 battery & charger for $25 http://www.snapitdigital.com/itemdetail.asp?mod=PONB2LKIT



http://www.thecameraprofessionals.com/prodetails.asp?pr...in4wCFQlQWAod-TmF6w#[/QUOTE]
 
Posts: 2 | Location: new york | Registered: November 26, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Posted Hide Post
I have the same bad experience with thecameraprofessionals I ordered a canon G9 Digital camera last month, I received a call the next day if I need a 2 hour or 5 hour battery (note. There is only one type battery for this camera) I told them no because I don’t want to spent $150 just for a battery, and this week I received an email from them that the camera is out of stock, while I was waiting for my camera I checked on Google for a good battery for this camera and I got snapitdigital.com sold me a Power2000 battery & charger for $25 http://www.snapitdigital.com/itemdetail.asp?mod=PONB2LKIT
 
Posts: 2 | Location: new york | Registered: November 26, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
Freshman
Posted Hide Post
I always check at the bottom of the website for hacker safe scan alert or something


Boyd Gaffney
Productiontrax.com
Spiritrax.com
 
Posts: 14 | Location: work | Registered: August 22, 2007Reply With QuoteEdit or Delete MessageReport This Post
 Previous Topic | Next Topic powered by eve community  
 

Studentfilms.com    Studentfilms.com Filmmaking Forums  Hop To Forum Categories  Filmmaking Tips & Techniques  Hop To Forums  General Filmmaking Discussion    Nervous about website purchase. Suggestions?

© Studentfilms.com, Inc. 2008